Scott Is Getting Ready To Defend His Masters

The Masters Golf Tournament is a major professional golf championship held in the Augusta National Golf Club (Augusta, USA). Ever since 1934, Masters Tournament is taking place every year and many popular golfers such as Jack Nicklaus, Tiger Woods, Arnold Palmer, Jimmy Demaret, Nick Faldo, Phil Mickelson etc have won the tournament more than once.

In the year 2013, Adam Scott won the Masters Golf Tournament which was actually the 77th edition of the tournament. In fact, Scott is the first golfer belonging to Australia who became the winner of the Masters tournament by defeating Angel Cabrera (Argentina). In the past, no Australian was able to win the Masters including Greg Norman who was able to become only a runner-up in the 1986, 1987 and 1996 Masters Tournament.

Adam Scott is going to be the 1st Master Champion who is going to defend his current title against around 100 golfers. Augusta National has added fourteen players after the 2013 Official World Golf Ranking list was released. This means that the field has been increased to ninety players and it might happen that the field is increased to more than 100 in the upcoming tournament.

Since the Augusta National Golf Club has a small field, the organizers used to keep the number of players under 100. Only in the 1996 Masters Tournament around 103 players participated and in the 2011 Masters Tournament there were around ninety-nine players.

Some of the golfers who have been qualified for the tournament because they were a part of the Top 50 of the 2013 Official World Golf Ranking list are Thomas Bjorn, Peter Hanson, Branden Grace, Hideki Matsuyama, David Lynn, Rickie Fowler etc.

Authorities have made certain changes in relation to the criteria for the Masters Tournament 2014 which is going to be held from 10th of April to 13th of April 2014.